The John Irvine Band was formed in the summer of 2011, in Edinburgh, Scotland by the composer/guitarist John Irvine.

The John Irvine Band has released three critically acclaimed CDs of Jazz-Rock music, ‘Wait & See’ (2011)‘Next Stop’ (2015) and ‘Metaphysical Attractions’ (2018).

All three albums have received plaudits from many magazines and websites, and several tracks have been played on internet and terra firma radio stations, such as: The Prog Rock Palace, Xymphonia, El Ritorno Del Gigante, Canvas Prog Hour, Friday Night Progressive and many more.

Both ‘Wait & See’ and ‘Next Stop’ were recorded with the same band lineup: John Irvine: Guitars, Keyboards, Alan Emslie: Drums, Percussion and Doug Kemp: Bass.

‘Metaphysical Attractions’ features a new line-up: Rich Kass on Drums, Rob Ironside on Sax and Gwen Kelso on flute.